||CalendarMaker for OS X
How To -- Questions
|How do I create, save and delete my own templates?
|How to save a template - Select Layouts > Create Template from Layout. This is
under CalendarMaker's File menu. (Suggestion: Make sure the name you give your template
is unique; i.e., not the same as one of our standard templates.) When you select
Create Template from Layout, you will be asked to name your template and a category.
You can have no category; you can use an existing category; or you can name a new
category. If you do not name a category, none is used but when opening a template
this "no name" category is displayed as "My Templates." To understand
the naming and saving it is helpful to understand where these are saved.
Your templates are stored in a folder as follows: Home folder > Library > Application
Support > CalendarMaker > Templates. If you named a category, a folder within
this Templates folder is created.
To delete a template, you need to go to the above location, locate the undesired
template, and drag it to the Trash.
To rename a template, you need to go to the above location, locate the desired template
and rename it as you would any other file.
Why would you want to save your own templates? You think you can improve on our templates.
Or, you prepare lots of different calendars and you want different defaults for each
What is and what is not saved when you save as a template?
1) Events are not saved.
2) The default appearance of the event is saved. You can set the default
appearance for both types of events (Timed and All Day). The default appearance is
only used when you create a new event. Whether your new events are created as Timed
or All Day is determined in Preferences > Events.
3) Notes (formerly called floating notes) are saved as part of the
template. Normally when you create a Note, it is only applied to the current month
unless you specify that you want it in more than the current month. However if you
save a template from a calendar that has a Note in it, CalendarMaker assumes that
you want the note on every month of your template. Both the text, the appearance
(including pictures), and the location of the Note are saved in the template. Notes
saved as part of a template, as with all other calendar elements, are saved as locked
4) Background pictures on the layout page (usually with a translucent
calendar element) are saved as part of the template.
5) Pictures placed in a day are not made part of the template, but
(confusingly) the picture will show as part of the template in the template selection
6) Pictures placed in an event (or embedded in event text) are not
made part of the template, but (confusingly) the picture will show as part of the
template in the template selection window.
|If this answer does not completely answer your question, please note the question
number and let us know how we can improve it by sending an e-mail to us at